Round 1: GP of Qatar - Losail, 02.03.2013

The 2013 season of FIM Motocross World Championship started in Losail, Qatar.
Athena, thanks to his renowed partnership with YOUTHSTREAM, will be among the main sponsors of the Holeshot Awards. Prizes are awarded to riders who make the most impressive starts and close the first lap in the first place.
Athena with its brand GET -specialized in electronics- has decided to sponsor the Holeshots to highlight its constant commitment on finding solutions that improve motorbikes performances right from the gate.
The awards were presented by Erardo Ratzenbeck, Senior Executive of Athena, present in Qatar.

Race 1 MX2
Jeffrey Herlings (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) won the race with more than thirty seconds on Glenn Coldenhoff (Standing Construct KTM). The Dutch rider has been able to pass his fellow countryman in the second lap and kept the lead until the finish.
Glenn Coldenhoff had a great start and got the Holeshot Award GET / Athena dominating the first two laps of the race.

Race 1 MX1
Kevin Strijbos (Rockstar Energy Suzuki), winner of the Holeshot Award GET / Athena, failed to keep the lead and after a few mistakes found himself in sixth place.
KTM Factory Team Red Bull’s number 222 recovered from the back to third place in the first race. It has been a troubled race start for Tony, who found himself stuck in the pack at the first turn. With a great comeback, Cairoli has been able to get a third place finish, with an impressive pass over Bobryshev with two laps to go.
Clement Desalle (Rockstar Energy Suzuki) started the race in fourth position and started chasing all those in front of him and at lap 14, the Belgian driver was in front of everyone with his gas wide open!

Ken De Dycker (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) started in third, passed both Bobryshev and Strijbos and led the race for seven laps then his fellow countryman Desalle, came from behind and passed him, and he could only defend the second position.

Desalle, Cairoli ed Herlings protagonisti in Qatar

Super Final
The first mixed Superfinal on the history of motocross, with the best of the MX1 and MX2 classes, saw the Holeshot of Desalle, closely followed by Strijbos. Cairoli was just behind them in front of Bobryshev, Fevbre, Tixier, Goncalves and Lieber.
Tony had a good start from the gate and with 25 minutes to go decided it was time to go and with great pass over Desalle, gained the leadership of the race.

Once in the lead, Cairoli accumulated margin, for his first race win of the season.
The Sicilian rider has signed with KTM for three years, giving continuity to an unbeatable partnership that has yielded three world titles with the Austrian manufacturer and six World Championship with Team De Carli, that will remain at the side of the champion.

Herlings concluded his performance in seventh place, best MX2 rider in the Super Final in front of De Dycker, Steven Frossard (Yamaha Factory Monster Energy Team) and David Philippaerts (Honda Gariboldi Racing Team).